Skip to main content

Instructional Media Center: Citing Media

Cite Your Sources

For more information about citations, formatting your bibliography and general guidelines. Check out HVCC Cite Your Sources.

Media

Formula

Example

DVD/ Motion picture

Title of Film. Directed by Director’s Name, performances by 2-3 Performer’s Names, Production Company, Year. 

To Kill a Mockingbird. Directed by Robert Mulligan, performances by Gregory Peck, John Megna, and Frank Overton, Universal International Pictures, 1962.

Video streaming from subscription database

Title of Film. Directed by Director’s Name, performances by 2-3 Performers' Names, Production Company, Year, Database, www.databaseurl.com.

12 Angry Men. Directed by Sidney Lumet, performances by Henry Fonda, Lee J. Cobb and Ed Begley, Orion-Nova Productions, 1957, Swank Digital Campus,www.digitalcampus.swankmp.net.

Episode from a series streaming

“Title of Episode.” Title of Series, produced by Producer’s Name, Year, Database, www.databaseurl.com.

“Stories from the Hudson.” America’s First River: Bill Moyers on the Hudson, produced by Bill Moyers, 2009, Films on Demand, http://fod.infobase.com/.

YouTube Video

User Name. "Title of Video." YouTube, Day Mon. Year, www.youtube.com/xyz.

Ted-Ed. "Why is This Painting So Captivating? - James Earle and Christina Bozsik." YouTube, 10 Mar. 2016, www.youtu.be/loMy3sbW64g.

Music CD

Performer’s Name. “Title of Song.” Title of Album, Production Company, Year of publication.

Nirvana. “Smells Like Teen Spirit." Nevermind, Geffen, 1991.

Painting, sculpture or photograph retrieved online

Artist’s Last, First Name. Title of Work. Year of creation, Housing Institution, http://www.exacturl.com.

Cezanne, Paul. Still Life with Apples and a Pot of Primroses. 1890, Metropolitan Museum of Art, www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/51.112.1.

Podcast (audio)

Host’s Last, First Name. “Title of Episode.” Title of Show, Station, Date Mon. Year of publication, www.exacturl.com.

Clark, Josh. “How Chili Peppers Work,” Stuff You Should Know, How Stuff Works, 10 Sept. 2015. http://www.stuffyoushouldknow.com/podcasts/how-chili-peppers-work.htm.

Tweet

@UserName. “Entire text of Tweet with the writer's capitalization and punctuation.” Twitter, Day Mon. Year, Time, www.twitter.com/xyz.

@HistoricalPics. “John F. Kennedy Shares a Quiet Breakfast with his Daughter Caroline in the White House, 1961.” Twitter, 8 May 2017, 4:30 a.m., www.twitter.com/HistoricalPics/status861543725482336256/photo/1.

 *All citations should be double spaced with a hanging indent.

Media

Formula

Example

DVD/ Motion picture

Last, F. (Producer), & Last, F. (Director). (Date of broadcast or copyright). Title of video [DVD or Motion picture]. Place of production: Studio. 

Pakula, A. (Producer), & Mulligan, R. (Director). (1962). To kill a mockingbird. [Motion picture]. United States: Universal Pictures.

Video streaming from subscription database

Last, F. (Producer), & Last, F. (Director). (Date of broadcast or copyright). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved from http://exacturl.com

Fonda, H. (Producer), & Lumet, S. (Director). (1957). 12  angry men [Video file]. Retrieved from             http://digitalcampus.swankmp.net

Episode from a series streaming

Last, F. (Writer), & Last, F. (Director). (Date of broadcast or copyright). Title of episode [Television series episode]. In F. Last (Producer), Series title. City, state of origin: Studio or distributor. Retrieved from http://www.exacturl.com

Kruener, P. (Writer), & Dzilvelis, P. (Director). (2010). The potato [Television series episode]. In D. Cambou (Producer), Modern marvels. United States: A&E Television. Retrieved from http://fod.infobase.com

YouTube Video

Username. (Date of upload). Title of video [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/exacturl

Ted-Ed. (2016, March 10). Why is this painting so captivating? - James Earle and Christina Bozsik [Video file]. Retrieved from https://youtu.be/loMy3sbW64g

Music CD

Writer, A. (Copyright year). Title of song [Recorded by if different from writer]. On Title of album [medium of recording CD, Record, Cassette]. Location: Label.

Nirvana. (1991). Smells like teen spirit. On Nevermind [CD].  Van Nuys, CA: Geffen.

Painting, sculpture or photograph retrieved online

Last, F. (Year of creation). Title of work [Medium]. Retrieved from http://www.exacturl.com

Cezanne, P. (1890). Still life with apples and a pot of primroses [Painting]. Retrieved from http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/51.112.1

Podcast (audio)

Last, F. (Producer). (Year, Month Day). Title of episode [Audio podcast]. On Title of series. Retrieved from http://exacturl.com

Clark, J. (Producer). (2015, September 10). How chili peppers work [Audio podcast]. On How stuff works. Retrieved from http://www.stuffyoushouldknow.com/podcasts/how-chili-peppers-work.htm

Tweet

Full Name of author or group [Username]. (Year, Month Day). Title of post. Up to forty words [Tweet]. Retrieved from https://twitter.com/exacturl

Historical Pictures [HistoricalPics]. (2017, May 8). John F. Kennedy shares a quiet breakfast with his daughter Caroline in the White House, 1961 [Tweet]. Retrieved from https://twitter.com/HistoricalPics/status/861543725482336256/photo/1

*All citations should be double spaced with a hanging indent. 

Media

Footnote or Endnote

Bibliographic Entry

DVD/ Motion picture

1. Alan Pakula, To Kill a Mockingbird, directed by Robert Mulligan (1962; Universal City, CA: Universal Studios Home Entertainment, 1998), DVD.

Peck, Gregory, John Megna, and Frank Overton. To Kill a Mockingbird, collectors ed. DVD. Directed by Robert Mulligan. Universal City, CA: Universal Studios Home Entertainment, 1998.

Video streaming from subscription database

2. Sidney Lumet, 12 Angry Men (1957; Orion-Nova Productions), streaming video, from Swank Digital Campus, 1:36:00, http://digitalcampus.swankmp.net.

Fonda, Henry, Lee J. Cobb and Ed Begley. 12 Angry Men. Directed by Sidney Lumet. Orion-Nova Productions, 1957. Swank Digital Campus, http://digitalcampus.swankmp.net.

Episode from a series streaming

3. “Stories from the Hudson.” America’s First River: Bill Moyers on the Hudson, produced by Bill Moyers, aired April 23, 2002. Films on Demand, 1:57:34. Posted March 5, 2009. http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?xtid=30024.

Moyers, Bill. “Stories from the Hudson.” America’s First River: Bill Moyers on the Hudson. Aired April 23, 2002. Films on Demand, 1:57:34. Posted March 5, 2009, http://fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?xtid=30024.

YouTube Video

4. “Why is this painting so captivating? - James Earle and Christina Bozsik,” YouTube video, 3:52, posted by “Ted-Ed,” March 10, 2016, https://youtu.be/loMy3sbW64g.

Ted-Ed. “Why is this painting so captivating? - James Earle and Christina Bozsik,” YouTube Video, 3:52. Posted March 10, 2016, https://youtu.be/loMy3sbW64g.

Music CD

5. Nirvana, Nevermind, DGC ‎– DGCD-24425, released September 24, 1991, compact disc.

Nirvana. Nevermind. DGC ‎– DGCD-24425, 1991, compact disc.

Painting, sculpture or photograph retrieved online

6. Paul Cezanne, Still Life with Apples and a Pot of Primroses, 1890, oil on canvas, 28 3/4 x 36 3/8 in. (73 x 92.4 cm) New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Cezanne, Paul. Still Life with Apples and a Pot of Primroses, 1890. Oil on canvas, 28 3/4 x 36 3/8 in. (73 x 92.4 cm) New York, Metropolitan Museum of Art. Accessed June 2, 2017. http://www.metmuseum.org/toah/works-of-art/51.112.1/.

Podcast (audio)

7. Josh Clark, “How Chili Peppers Work.” Stuff You Should Know, podcast audio, September 10, 2015. http://www.stuffyoushouldknow.com/podcasts/how-chili-peppers-work.htm.

Clark, Josh. “How Chili Peppers Work.” Stuff You Should Know, podcast audio, aired September 10, 2015. http://www.stuffyoushouldknow.com/podcasts/how-chili-peppers-work.htm.

Tweet

8. Donald J. Trump, Twitter post, January 22, 2017, 6:23 a.m., https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump.

Tweets do not have entries in the bibliography.

Loading